Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Knit and Knot
15 août 2006

Tomorrow, the older of my birds is leaving the

Tomorrow, the older of my birds is leaving the nest.  She is beginning University in the big town only September 5 but,  of course, she is eager to go; no Mom nor Dad to tell her to clean up her room or to help with the housechores.  Mom and Dad aren't so eager.  There is a bit of sadness of course but also a feeling that time fly too fast...much too fast.

Perhaps that's why I needed some new yarn, as a pick-me-up and that the Dad didn't comment on my purchases at all.  So, beside a few skeins of silk and cotton on eBay, I sent a fax to Ami-Ami to order some fine wool.  Pictures will follow as soon as the yarn is home which should be pretty fast since the warehouse is very near me.  I would have liked to go get it myself but they do only mail orders and refuse pick-up.   All I feel like is to knit shawls, wraps and stoles, warm socks and more shawls.  No, I am not frozen; it's still quite hot during the day.  I even felt like entering the scarf exchange but I know I would have a hard time keeping up for the deadline.

I am done with Amanda. In fact, it only need a little sewing after it's dry. It was a fast and easy knit and I might just use that pattern again with another yarn waiting for me in my stash.

maman_024

At the craft guild, we plan to knit dishcloths as a way to earn some $$ for our activities.  That's why I ordered the cotton on eBay and it will give me a chance to try those vintage dye vials I got at a church bazar.  I have some red, purple and turquoise.   Beside finding an old pan so not to stain mines, I have to make skeins and am using this little home made kniddy knoddy which was gathering dust for quite a few years. 

maman_028 maman_026

I am not showing the other yarn I got as it's a gift for my  Not Secret Pal Cécile.  She should have fun with it.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Knit and Knot
Publicité
Publicité